Johnson Creek Board of Education Organizational Meeting April 27, 2010 Elementary Music Room 5:30 p.m.

Clerk Kellie Loeb called the meeting to order.

Those present recited the pledge of allegiance.

Members Present: Duane Draeger, Rick Kaltenberg, Kellie Loeb, June McCaffery Carol O'Neil, Tina Roehl, and Andrew Swanson (arrived 5:45),

Also Present: District Administrator Michael Garvey, Buildings and Grounds Director Dan Fischer, Ken Johnson, EUA representatives Kit Daly and Gary Woodward, Cynthia Hirsch, and Melane Kolaski

Dr. Garvey verified that the meeting was properly posted.

Motion by McCaffery/Draeger to adopt the agenda as posted. Motion Carried.

Community Viewpoint

Mrs. Hirsch indicated that she is hearing that during the referendum that not enough detail was available about the cost of staying on the existing site. She also stated a concern about the WKCE test scores.

Mrs. Kolaske indicated that she thought the Board answered the questions about staying on one site but it could have had more detail.

Both asked about the use of Special Education stimulus monies. Dr. Garvey responded that the stimulus monies were used for technology, staff development and to maintain two teacher aide positions.

Mrs. Loeb turned the meeting over to Dr. Garvey to conduct the election of President.

Motion by Loeb/McCaffery to nominate Tina Roehl as President. No other nominations were received. Motion by Loeb/O'Neil to close nominations. Motion passed by voice vote. Tina Roehl was elected by voice vote and assumed the chair.

Motion by Draeger/McCaffery to nominate Rick Kaltenberg as Vice-President. Motion by O'Neil/McCaffery to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Rick Kaltenberg. Motion passed on a voice vote.

Motion by McCaffery/Kaltenberg to nominate Kellie Loeb as Clerk. Motion by O'Neil/McCaffery to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Kellie Loeb. Motion passed on a voice vote.

Motion by Draeger/Loeb to nominate June McCaffery as Treasurer. Motion by O'Neil/Loeb to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for June McCaffery. Motion passed on a voice vote.

Other Appointments

Motion by McCaffery/Draeger to Designate Badger Bank as the District's depository. Badger Bank is expected to provide proof of collateralization of funds using US securities, over the FDIC limits.

Draeger (Y), Rick Kaltenberg(Y), Kellie Loeb(Y), June McCaffery(Y), Carol O'Neil(Y), Tina Roehl(Y), Andrew Swanson (absent)

Motion Passed 6-0.

Motion by Loeb/Kaltenberg to Designate Larry Steen Law Office as the District's Legal Counsel.

Draeger (Y), Rick Kaltenberg(Y), Kellie Loeb(Y), June McCaffery(Y), Carol O'Neil(Y), Tina Roehl(Y), Andrew Swanson (absent)

Motion Passed 6-0.

Motion by Loeb/Kaltenberg to set the regular meeting day and time to be the third Monday of each month at 6p.m. Motion Passed.

Motion by Loeb/Kaltenberg to designate the Watertown Daily Times as the District's official newspaper.

Motion by Loeb/Draeger to appoint June McCaffery as the Board's delegate to the WASB state convention and Rick Kaltenberg as the alternate. Motion passed.

Motion by McCaffery/Loeb to appoint Duane Draeger as the Board's delegate to CESA #2. Motion passed.

Motion by Kaltenberg/McCaffery to appoint Carol O'Neil as the Village Liaison. Motion Passed.

Motion by McCaffery/Kaltenberg to appoint Andrew Swanson as the Board's rep to the Johnson Creek Education Foundation.

Dr. Garvey handed out Committee Responsibilities. Board members were asked to submit their preferences by Friday.

(Mr. Swanson Arrived)

The Board discussed how to address the facilities issues in light of the April 6th referendum results. Dr. Garvey indicated that he, Mr. Fischer and Mr. Kaltenberg had met with a construction management firm about what a CM does. He recommended the Board move forward and select a Construction Manager who can move the project numbers to the next level of detail looking at options available to the District.

Motion by O'Neil/Kaltenberg that the Board accept Dr. Garvey's recommendation and that the Sites and Facilities Committee create an RFP to solicit proposals from construction management firms.

President Tina Roehl requested that the May 17, 2010 Board meeting begin at 7p.m. rather than 6p.m. The Board concurred.

Motion by Kaltenberg/Swanson to adjourn. Motion Passed.

Respectfully submitted,

Michael P. Garvey, Ph.D. District Administrator