School Board Legal Status

POLICY: 130

The United States Constitution leaves to the individual states the responsibility for public education.

The School Board of the School District of Johnson Creek derives its authority to govern the local schools directly from the Constitution of Wisconsin and the statutes of the Legislature. However, the Board also recognizes that by custom and tradition, it has the responsibility to the citizenry it serves and the persons it employs to discharge its duties and obligations in a manner that will ensure the highest possible educational level of the citizens of the Johnson Creek area.

In accepting this dual source of authority and responsibility, the Board of the School District of Johnson Creek further accepts its role as the policymaking body for the District and declares its intent to perform this function within the framework of the law and the will of the local citizenry.

The School District of Johnson Creek is classified as a common school district. It includes the Village of Johnson Creek, and parts of the townships of Aztalan, Concord, Milford, Farmington and Watertown. The District is under the management and control of a locally elected school board which acts as an agent of the State of Wisconsin and governs the public schools in accordance with the state law.

NUMBER OF BOARD MEMBERS

The School Board will consist of seven members, elected at large by a plurality vote cast by the qualified electors of the School District.

TERM OF OFFICE

Board members will serve three years and/or until their successors have been elected and qualified.

Adopted: 9/1/78 Revised: 2/6/97 Reviewed: 5/12/97 Reviewed: 11/13/02 Reviewed: 7/16/07 Reviewed: 1/11/16 Reviewed: 2/25/21