#### JOHNSON CREEK SCHOOL DISTRICT

# Regular Board of Education Meeting Minutes Monday, April 17, 2023 6:00 p.m. Elementary Music Room

President Richard Wrensch called the meeting to order.

Board Members Present: Duane Draeger, Ken Johnson, June Kolaske, Christina Norby, Mark Siewert, Natasha Steenbergen, and Wesley Trapp

Also present: District Administrator Mark Gruen, Principal Neil O'Connell, Principal Melissa Enger, Special Education Director Stacy Pustina, Administrative Assistant Becky Stewart, Richard Wrensch, Diane Trimborn, Heidi Hartz, Tim Semo, Scott Gill, Donna Gill, and Jay Badon

Becky Stewart verified that the meeting was properly posted pursuant to § 19.84(1) Wis. Statutes.

Motion by Draeger/Trapp to adopt the agenda as posted. Motion Carried.

## **Approval of Minutes**

Motion by Siewert/Johnson to approve the minutes of the Regular Board meeting of March 20, 2023 and Special Board meeting of March 29, 2023. Motion Carried.

# **Community Viewpoint**

None

### **Announce Spring Election Results**

District Administrator, Mark Gruen, announced that Christina Norby and Natasha Steenbergen were elected to their first three-year term on the School Board.

Mr. Gruen administered the oaths of office to Mrs. Norby and Mrs. Steenbergen. They will begin their terms April 24<sup>th</sup>, 2023.

Mr. Gruen recognized Mrs. Kwarciany for her three years as a school Board member and Mr. Wrensch for his twelve years (two different times) as a school Board member. He presented Rick with a framed certificate.

## **School Board Re-Organization**

## 2023-24 Election of Officers

Mr. Gruen lead the nomination process for President.

Nominations for **President** were accepted.

Nomination of Ken Johnson for President by Draeger/Siewert. Mr. Johnson accepted the nomination.

Nomination of Mark Siewert for President by Johnson/Kolaske. Mr. Siewert accepted the nomination.

There were no other nominations for President.

Mark Siewert was elected President by private written vote.

Mr. Siewert lead the nomination process for the rest of the Board Officers.

Vice President nominations were accepted.

Nomination of Ken Johnson for Vice President by Kolaske/Draeger. Mr. Johnson accepted the nomination.

The Board closed nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Ken Johnson for Vice President.

Clerk nominations were accepted.

Nomination of June Kolaske for Clerk by Draeger/Johnson. Mrs. Kolaske accepted the nomination.

The Board closed nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for June Kolaske for Clerk.

Treasurer nominations were accepted.

Nomination of Duane Draeger for Treasurer by Kolaske/Trapp. Mr. Draeger accepted the nomination.

The Board closed nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Duane Draeger for Treasurer.

# 2023-24 Designations

Motion by Kolaske/Draeger to designate Badger Bank as the District's Official Depository for general/payroll accounts. Motion Carried.

Motion by Johnson/Kolaske to designation Larry Steen as the District's Official Legal Counsel and for School Law related issues Mark Gruen may call WASB or Boardman & Clark. Motion Carried.

Motion by Draeger/Norby to designate the third Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. as the District's Regular Board meeting time. Motion Carried.

Motion by Draeger/Trapp to designate *The Watertown Daily Times* as the District's Official newspaper. Motion Carried.

#### 2023-24 Selections

June Kolaske volunteered to remain as the District's WASB delegate and Christina Norby volunteered as the District's alternate.

Wesley Trapp volunteered to remain as the District's CESA #2 delegate.

Ken Johnson volunteered as the Village Liaison.

Natasha Steenbergen volunteered as the District's Johnson Creek Education Foundation Committee Representative.

Ken Johnson and Wesley Trapp volunteered to remain as the Joint Recreation Committee Members.

## **Business Affairs/Treasurer's Report**

Motion by Draeger/Trapp to approve Accounts Payable checks 243070-243197 in the amount of \$468,362.08, no wire transfers, Payroll checks 15746-15750 in the amount of \$2,993.38, and Payroll ETF transaction 900951663-900951893 in the amount of \$311,814.83.

Roll Call vote: Draeger (Y), Johnson (Y), Kolaske (Y), Norby (Y), Siewert (Y), Steenbergen (Y), and Trapp (Y).

$$Yes - 7$$
  $No - 0$  Absent  $- 0$  Motion Carried

Motion by Kolaske/Draeger to approve the 2023-24 CESA 2 Contract. Motion Carried.

#### Personnel

Motion by Draeger/Kolaske to accept Billie Collins and Stacy Tully's resignation effective the end of the 2022-23 school year. Motion Carried.

## **New Business**

Board members will email their preferences to President Mark Siewert and he will work with Mr. Gruen to assign the committees.

### **Communications**

# Administrative Report

Mr. O'Connell stated the New York Trip went well. The Pre-ACT will take place on Thursday, April 20<sup>th</sup> and AP exams will start at the beginning of May. Prom is on Saturday, May 6<sup>th</sup>.

Mrs. Enger stated Forward exams are in process at the Elementary. Open Mic Night is on Thursday, April 27<sup>th</sup> and there are several field trips coming up.

Mrs. Pustina stated Mental Health Night is May 16<sup>th</sup> from 5:30-7 p.m.

Mr. Gruen stated on Friday, May 12<sup>th</sup> there will be an early release for students and an all staff appreciation celebration will take place in the afternoon.

### **Board Member Comments**

Mrs. Kolaske thanked Rick Wrensch and Janelle Kwarciany for their service on the school Board. Mrs. Kolaske also mentioned the New Board Member gathering is on Thursday, April 20<sup>th</sup> at Oregon High School from 7-9 p.m.

Mr. Johnson thanked Rick for his service.

Mr. Trapp thanked Rick for his service.

Mrs. Steenbergen mentioned she saw an interesting statistic - nearly half of the high school students are involved in a spring sport.

Mrs. Norby thanked everyone for welcoming her to the Board.

Mr. Siewert thanked Rick for his service.

## **Committee Reports**

None

Motion by Kolaske/Draeger for the Board to conduct a closed session pursuant to Wis. Stats. §19.85(1)(e) and if the said Motion is adopted, then to hold a Closed Session immediately after approval of the said Motion to deliberate or negotiate the purchasing of public properties, the investing of public funds, or conducting other specified public business, whenever competitive or bargaining reasons require a closed session

Roll Call vote: Draeger (Y), Johnson (Y), Kolaske (Y), Norby (Y), Siewert (Y), Steenbergen (Y), and Trapp (Y).

Yes -7 No -0 Absent -0 Motion Carried

The Board didn't return to open session

Respectfully submitted,

Rebecca A. Stewart District Administrative Assistant