SCHOOL DISTRICT OF JOHNSON CREEK Special Board of Education Meeting Organizational Meeting Minutes Monday, April 29, 2013 5:30 p.m. Elementary Music Room

Board President Tina Roehl called the meeting to order

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by those present.

Members Present: Rick Kaltenberg, Andrew Swanson, June McCaffery, Kellie Loeb, Tina Roehl, Carol O'Neil and Duane Draeger

Also Present: Superintendent Michael Garvey and Principal Kris Blakeley.

Dr. Garvey Verified that the meeting was properly posted Notice Pursuant to § 19.84(1) Wis. Statutes

Motion by Draeger/Loeb to adopt the agenda as posted with a note that the designations are for 2013-14 and removing item 7B. Motion Carried on a Voice Vote.

President Roehl asked Dr. Garvey to lead the nomination process for President:

Nomination of Tina Roehl for President by Loeb/McCaffery

Motion byO'Neil/McCaffery to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Tina Roehl for President. Motion Carried on a Voice Vote.

Mrs. Roehl assumed the President role and led the rest of the nomination process.

Vice President nominations were accepted:

Nomination of Rick Kaltenberg for Vice-President by Loeb/Draeger

Motion by McCaffery/O'Neil to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Rick Kaltenberg for Vice President. Motion Carried on a Voice Vote

Clerk nominations were accepted:

Nomination of Kellie Loeb for Clerk by O'Neil/Kaltenberg

Motion byMcCaffery/Draeger to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Kellie Loeb for Clerk. Motion Carried on a Voice Vote

Treasurer nominations were accepted:

Nomination of June McCaffery for Treasurer by Loeb/O'neil.

Nomination of Andrew Swanson for Treasurer by Kaltenberg/Draeger.

President Roehl closed nominations and the Board voted by a show of hands. McCaffery received 3 votes and Swanson received 4 votes. Swanson was elected Board Treasurer.

2013-14 Designations

Motion by Draeger/Loeb to designate Badger Bank as the District's official Depository

Roll Call Vote:

Rick Kaltenberg (Y), Andrew Swanson (Y), June McCaffery (Y), Kellie Loeb(Y), Tina Roehl (Y), Carol O'Neil (Y), Draeger (Y)

Yea: 7 No: 0 Motion carried on a 7-0 affirmative vote.

Motion by McCaffery/Draeger to designate Larry Steen as the District's official Legal Counsel

Roll Call Vote:

Rick Kaltenberg (Y), Andrew Swanson (Y), June McCaffery (Y), Kellie Loeb(Y), Tina Roehl (Y), Carol O'Neil (Y), Draeger (Y)

Yea: 7 No: 0

Motion carried on a 7-0 affirmative vote.

Motion byLoeb/Draeger to designate the third Wednesday of each month at 6pm as the District's Regular Board meeting time. Motion carried by Voice Vote.

Motion byO'Neil/Loeb to designate *The Watertown Times* as the District's Official newspaper. Motion carried by Voice Vote.

Motion by Loeb/Swanson to designate June McCaffery as the District's WASB delegate and Rick Kaltenberg as the District's alternate selection. Motion carried by Voice Vote.

Motion by Kaltenberg/O'Neil to designate Duane Draeger as the District's CESA #2 delegate. Motion carried by Voice Vote.

Motion by Loeb/McCaffery to designate Carol O'Neil as the District's Village Liaison. Motion carried by Voice Vote.

Motion byLoeb/Kaltenberg to designate Andrew Swanson as the District's Johnson Creek Education Foundation Committee Representative. Motion carried by Voice Vote.

Motion byO'Neil/Swanson to designate Kellie Loeb as the District's Johnson Creek Village Park Committee Representative. Motion carried by Voice Vote.

New Business

Motion by O'Neil/Swanson to proclaim May 6th-May 10th, 2013 as Teacher Appreciation Week in the Johnson Creek School District. Motion carried on a voice vote. President Roehl signed the proclamation witnessed by Clerk Kellie Loeb.

The Board set a retreat date of May 29th at 5:30pm at Kellie Loeb's residence. The Board will discuss assessment and facility issues.

Mrs. Roehl asked Board members to e-mail the committees on which they wish to remain, on which they wish to move off of, and on which they would like to serve.

Motion by Swanson/Loeb to Adjourn. Motion carried on a voice Vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Michael P. Garvey, Ph.D. Superintendent